18th Annual Party


Thank you everyone who joined us at YNPNsfba's 18th Annual Party on November 19th at ImpactHub in San Francisco. The night started off with catered dinner by Basil Canteen, wine provided by Safeway, and beer from Ninkasi Brewing. After a few bites, we welcomed familiar faces in the crowd --Brianna Swartz, Tehshan Lee, and Nicole Howell (photo above), some of whom were former YNPNsfba Board Members. 

thumb_IMG_0080_1024.jpgAs guests arrived, inspiring quotes were displayed throughout the venue. Quotes were taken from our recent survey in which young nonprofiteers told us their number one reason why they chose to work in the nonprofit sector. Some of them were, "I don't want to just focus on maximizing profits" to "[wanting] to make real change in the world." 

thumb_IMG_0104_1024.jpgthumb_IMG_0139_1024.jpgAfter letting folks settle in and mingle, we had Karla Monterroso, Vice President of Student Programs at Code2040, share her story and give some hard truths about working in the nonprofit sector. But of course, with some difficult words of wisdom, came some positive advice for young professionals in the crowd to carry onto 2016, such as how to develop their personal growth and the importance of "[being] in community with each other." In case you missed out on the party, one of our members, Kate Goyette, told us that Karla's speech was, "one of the most authentic that she's heard in a long time." thumb_IMG_0128_1024.jpg

To add the the festivities, we gave out several raffle items, including two tickets to Planet Granite, a gift basket of wine & chocolate goodies, two restaurant dining coupons worth $25 each (from Angie Jin), two books (from Ann Lehman), and 15 books (from Tam Pham), which was given out to folks who showed us their Limbo skills.


Directly following the raffle giveaways, we presented our annual awards to the three community chosen awardees. 


Programs Professional of the Year
Jamileh Ebrahimi, Youth Organizing Director
RYSE Center
Operations Professional of the Year
Dawnell Powell, Associate, Career Advancement
Education Pioneers

Development Professional of the Year
Summer Hirtzel, Membership & Development Coordinator
Yerba Buena Center for the Arts 

All three recipients received a book donated by Author, Beth Kanter and both Jamileh Ebrahimi and Summer Hirtzel shared a short speech. While Dawnell Powell could not make it, her colleague, Leah Webster, accepted the award on her behalf.  Shortly after, we found ourselves saying goodbye to friends and new acquaintances.

Thank you for coming and letting us celebrate you, the changemaker, at our 18th Annual Party. Don't forget to check out the photos on our Facebook Page and connect with us on our Linkedin and Twitter

Lastly, we want to thank all of our volunteers for making the 18th Annual Party a success! 

Lisa Weintraub
Moua Lo
Laura Burkhauser
Lizzie Timbers Lara 
Angie Kim
Autumn Love
Hannah Levinson
Erica Ernst
Nadine Rose
Brook Sinclair
Kimberly Perry
Sara Thompson

[photos by: Moua Lo, @creativemoua]